Need Immediate Answers? Check out our SUPPORT CENTER or CONTACT OUR SUPPORT TEAM

digital download -pricing

I am new to selling digital download capability and am trying to establish a competitive price point for downloading an image for personal use only . Any thoughts ?

Comments

• Stroodle88Stroodle88 White Salmon, WAMember Posts: 90
    My wedding photographer charged $7 for each 4x6 engagement photo print my now wife and I wanted. At the time, I thought it was a bit pricey, but good photography in my opinion is a luxury good. I'd say somewhere in the neighborhood of $2.50 - $4.00 is fair for digital downloads. I charge at the lower end myself.
    Bertrand Hui
    Bertrand Hui - Lifestyle Photographer
    Based in the Columbia River Gorge, Pacific Northwest
  • gazfygazfy Hessen, GermanyMember Posts: 142
    Depends on what sizes your offering, also where your based and who your target audience is has to be taken into account. As Bertrand mentioned, good photography is a luxury commodity. I offer 3 sizes, web, medium and the original full size versions. Mine are priced at 5,10 and 20 euro respectively for individual images from the site. The reason I price them at that level is as soon as you've sold one download of the original version I expect it to be passed around the clients family and friends irrespective of what license I've given with it!
    Gary.
    My website
    Looking to join/upgrade? Ref code for a discount 9AW-DR5-2JZ
  • Thank you both for your input and suggestions - that helps me a great deal .
  • Kevin KrowsKevin Krows United StatesMember Posts: 1,463
    edited March 2014
    NC
    Post edited by Kevin Krows on
  • I am a family/babies/weddings photograher, and I have 2 types of files for sale on my site. I have "web files" which are web sized, but do not have my logo, and I have printable files.