Providing a CD to customer

I see a lot of photographers offering a CD with all of the photos they take included in the photo shoot price. I'm wondering if these are watermarked and full size with a release so the customer can print them. Is this really a good option? I'm just starting out trying to do pet photo shoots and most people think they should just get the CD but I think the files should stay in my control.

Comments

• Kevin KrowsKevin Krows United StatesMember Posts: 1,451
    Do they still make CD's?
    Kidding aside. A photographer that offers a CD of all their original images tells me two things.

1. They are clinging to a very old delivery technology and are unwilling to learn how to use internet downloading via a host site, ftp, or cloud style service like Drop Box.

2. Don't know what they are doing as a business person as it relates to their photography work.

Tim, since you are "just starting out", you need to carefully measure how you position the products you offer for sale. This includes digital files. Everything you do needs to point in one direction ... your ability to be compensated for your time, talent, equipment, and profitability.

Let's say that $150/hr is your magic number with a 3 hour minimum. $450.00 is your minimum requirement to take care of all your needs and feed your family. If someone paid you upfront for your original files (unprocessed) in exchange for the full size originals it's probably not a bad deal.

If the client wants finished "fully processed" images, you'll need a formula to calculate that additional cost. In my case, on average, every 1 hour of location time is equal to 2 hours in post production. My "bench rate" for post production is one-half my location rate. Using our hypothetical example, I would charge another 6 hours of time at a rate of $75/hr. or an additional $450.00 for fully processed images. Customer would pay a total of $900.00.