Need Immediate Answers? Check out our SUPPORT CENTER or CONTACT OUR SUPPORT TEAM

Getting Noticed...

Hi all,

I'm new to all of this. This is a hobby for me at this point. I do mainly nature, wildlife and landscape photography, so I do not have clients that actually book my services... I just want to sell prints to make enough money to grow the hobby, and maybe eventually (as I get better) go pro. Hoping this might be a good retirement career.

I've been posting all over social media, but it seems the only place I am getting any kind of notice at all is Instagram, and even there the majority of my followers are fellow photographers. Not exactly my customer. Short of shelling out all kinds of money to "boost" and "promote" my posts (effectively just filling the coffers of these media giants), what else can I do to find those people who might be interested in what I offer,... and make myself known to them.

If anyone else in this type of business would be willing to share some secrets about keywords, hashtags or other SEO stuff... I would be very appreciative! I doubt I'd be able to take a bite out of anyone's business.... I just want to buy some new toys!

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Comments

• Hello! A few things you might like to try: (1) Contact your local department of tourism. Show them a few of your pictures and ask if they are contracting out any work for upcoming brochures, maps etc. (2) Create a calendar and sell it locally at craft fairs or ask to have some put in local shops. A 2019 calendar should likely be ready for sales by September (3) Frame or mount some of your photos and see if you can have them sold in local shops or galleries. You might also contact hotel chains, ask to speak with whoever is in charge of their art purchases and see if they are interested in any of your photos. (4) You can try micro stock, but at .25 a picture for many and a flooded market...